The Sully Baseball Official BBA Awards Ballot



As a proud member of the Baseball Blogger Alliance, every year, I submit my vote for the individual awards and I post them publicly.

I am going to simply list my choices and if you have any issues or disagreements with me, please leave them in the comment section below or click HERE to get to my Twitter handle


The Connie Mack Award (Manager of the Year):

1. Bruce Bochy, San Francisco
2. Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh
3. Mike Matheny, St. Louis

1. Buck Showalter, Baltimore
2. Mike Scioscia, Los Angeles
3. Bob Melvin, Oakland


The Willie Mays Award (Rookie of the Year):

1. Jacob deGrom, New York
2. David Buchanan, Philadelphia
3. Billy Hamilton, Cincinnati

1. Jose Abreu, Chicago
2. Danny Santana, Minnesota
3. Yordano Ventura, Kansas City



The Goose Gossage Award (Reliever of the Year): 

1. Drew Storen, Washington
2. Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta
3. Tony Watson, Pittsburgh

1. Wade Davis, Kansas City
2. Sean Doolittle, Oakland
3. Dellin Betances, New York



The Walter Johnson Award (Pitcher of the Year): 

1. Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles
2. Johnny Cueto, Cincinnati
3. Adam Wainwright, St. Louis
4. Jordan Zimmermann, Washington
5. Cole Hamels, Philadelphia

1. Felix Hernandez, Seattle
2. Corey Kluber, Cleveland
3. Chris Sale, Chicago
4. Dallas Keuchel, Houston
5. David Price, Tampa Bay and Detroit


The Stan Musial Award (MVP): 

1. Giancarlo Stanton, Miami
2. Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh

3. Buster Posey, San Francisco
4. Jonathan LuCroy, Milwaukee
5. Josh Harrison, Pittsburgh
6. Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles

7. Anthony Rendon, Washington
8. Jhonny Peralta, St. Louis
9. Jason Heyward, Atlanta
10. Russell Martin, Pittsburgh

1. Mike Trout, Los Angeles
2. Josh Donaldson, Oakland
3. Jose Altuve, Houston
4. Alex Gordon, Kansas City
5. Michael Brantley, Cleveland
6. Miguel Cabrera, Detroit
7. Victor Martinez, Detroit
8. Nelson Cruz, Baltimore
9. Adam Jones, Baltimore
10. Jose Bautista, Toronto

So let’s see how my votes lineup with the final tallies.

Sully Baseball Presents – BBA Award Ballot



Your pal Sully is a member of the BBA, the Baseball Bloggers Alliance. It is a great group that helps promote me and other bloggers. And every year, all of the members post our picks for the awards for the regular season.

Here are the Sully Baseball picks for each BAA award:

THE CONNIE MACK AWARD  – Given to the top manager each year:

AL: JOHN FARRELL, Boston Red Sox

NL: CLINT HURDLE, Pittsburgh Pirates

THE WILLIE MAYS AWARD – Given to the top rookie each year:

AL: WIL MYERS, Tampa Bay Rays


THE GOOSE GOSSAGE AWARD – Given to the top reliever each year:

AL: KOJI UEHARA, Boston Red Sox

NL: CRAIG KIMBREL, Atlanta Braves

THE WALTER JOHNSON AWARD – Given to the top pitcher each year:

AL: MAX SCHERZER, Detroit Tigers

NL: CLAYTON KERSHAW, Los Angeles Dodgers

THE STAN MUSIAL AWARD – Given to the top player each year:

AL: MIKE TROUT, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

NL: ANDREW McCUTCHEN, Pittsburgh Pirates


Close calls for Paul Goldschmidt and Yasiel Puig.

I will go through my own stats, WOB and WOO after the World Series.



The Sully Baseball Ballot for the BBA Awards

Every year the Baseball Bloggers Alliance announces their individual awards. And as a member, I need to fill out my ballot for each prize.

I know it is the postseason now, but let’s hand out some hardware for regular season excellence.

The Connie Mack Award for Best Manager 
American League

1. Bob Melvin – Oakland Athletics
2. Buck Showalter – Baltimore Orioles
3. Joe Girardi – New York Yankees

National League
1. Bruce Bochy – San Francisco Giants
2. Davey Johnson – Washington Nationals
3. Dusty Baker – Cincinnati Reds

The Willie Mays Award for Top Rookie
American League
1. Mike Trout – Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
2. Yoenis Cespedes – Oakland Athletics
3. Yu Darvish – Texas Rangers
National League
1. Bryce Harper – Washington Nationals
2. Wade Miley – Arizona Diamondbacks
3. Todd Frazier – Cincinnati Reds
The Rich Gossage Award for Top Reliever
American League
1. Fernando Rodney – Tampa Bay Rays
2. Jim Johnson – Baltimore Orioles
3. Rafael Soriano – New York Yankees
National League
1. Craig Kimbrel – Atlanta Braves
2. Aroldis Chapman – Cincinnati Reds
3. Jason Motte – St. Louis Cardinals
The Walter Johnson Award for Top Pitcher

American League
1. Justin Verlander – Detroit Tigers
2. David Price – Tampa Bay Rays
3. Chris Sale – Chicago White Sox
4. Felix Hernandez – Seattle Mariners
5. Jered Weaver – Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

National League
1. R. A. Dickey – New York Mets
2. Johnny Cueto – Cincinnati Reds
3. Clayton Kershaw – Los Angeles Dodgers
4. Gio Gonzalez – Washington Nationals
5. Craig Kimbrel – Atlanta Braves

The Stan Musial Award for Top Player

American League
1. Miguel Cabrera – Detroit Tigers
2. Mike Trout – Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
3. Robinson Cano – New York Yankees
4. Adrian Beltre – Texas Rangers
5. Josh Hamilton – Texas Rangers
6. Joe Mauer – Minnesota Twins
7. Alex Gordon – Kansas City Royals
8 Edwin Encarnacion – Toronto Blue Jays
9. Prince Fielder – Detroit Tigers
10. Yoenis Cespedes – Oakland Athletics

National League
1. Buster Posey – San Francisco Giants
2. Andrew McCutchen – Pittsburgh Pirates
3. Ryan Braun – Milwaukee Brewers
4. Yadier Molina – St. Louis Cardinals
5. David Wright – New York Mets
6. Matt Holliday – St. Louis Cardinals
7. Aramis Ramirez – Milwaukee Brewers
8. Chase Headley – San Diego Padres
9. Carlos Gonzalez – Colorado Rockies
10. Ryan Zimmerman – Washington Nationals

So there is my complete ballot. And no doubt I have ticked SOMEONE off.

I am sure my putting Cabrera on top of the AL Stan Musial Award will be fine with everyone.

Now back to the post season.

Follow sullybaseball on Twitter