Getty Images

There was lots of great pitching during the first day of the post season… oddly only Shane Beiber was bombed!

Each winning team for every post season game gets a pitcher and a hitter who earn a full WOO(Who Owns October.)

And at my discretion, I award a 1/2 WOO’S to a worthy player on the losing team.

But the World Series deserves its own stats. WOWS (Who Owns the World Series.)

At the end of the post season, we will see who had the highest WOO total as a pitcher and a hitter. The WOWS total will be kept separately. Each game now counts towards both tallies.

A complete description of the rules can be found HERE.

From September 29, 2020 – GAME 1 of the AL WILD CARD SERIES

Receiving 1 WOO

Jose Abreu went 2 for 4 with a homer to power the White Sox past the A’s, 4-1.

Michael Brantley singled and doubled, driving in 2 runs as the Astros rallied in the 9th for a 4-1 win over the Twins.

Gerrit Cole struck out 13 Indians in 7 innings as the Yankees rolled, 12-3.

Lucas Giolito took a perfect game into the 7th and finished with 2 hits and 1 run over 7, stiking out 8 Oakland batters to help the White Sox take the 4-1 opener.

Manuel Margot singled and homered, driving in 2, helping the Rays take Game 1 over the Blue Jays, 3-1.

Blake Snell struck out 9 Blue Jays in 5 2/3 one hit shutout innings to earn the 3-1 win for the Rays.

Gleyber Torres reached base 5 times, homered, scored 3 and drove in 3 to help the Yankees pound Cleveland 12-3.

Framber Valdez threw the final 5 innings, allowing 2 hits and no runs, striking out 5 Twins to earn the 4-1 decision for Houston.

Receiving 1/2 WOO

Nelson Cruz doubled and walked, driving in the Twins lone run as they fell to the Astros, 4-1.

Lourdes Gurriel Jr. singled and doubled in the Blue Jays 3-1 loss in Tampa Bay.

Tommy La Stella broke up the no hitter in the 7th with a single but the A’s attack was dead against the White Sox in the 4-1 defeat.

Kenta Maeda threw 5 shutout innings, striking out 5 Astros but the Twins dropped the 4-1 final.

Phil Maton worked out of trouble to give Cleveland 1 1/3 shutout innings of relief. The damage had been done by the Yankees, who won 12-3.

Josh Naylor singled, homered and hit 2 doubles in the Indians 12-3 blow out loss to the Yankees.

Matt Shoemaker started the game with 3 shutout innings, striking out a pair of Rays. He was long gone when the Blue Jays lost the 3-1 opener.

J. B. Wendelken helped stop the bleeding with 2 2/3 shutout innings, striking out 3 White Sox. But the damage was done in the A’s 4-1 loss.

CURRENT WOO Totals MLB, 2020


Jose Abreu – White Sox 1, Michael Brantley – Astros 1, Manuel Margot – Rays 1, Gleyber Torres – Yankees 1, Nelson Cruz – Twins 1/2, Lourdes Gurriel Jr. – Blue Jays 1/2, Josh Naylor – Indians 1/2, Tommy La Stella – Athletics 1/2


Gerrit Cole – Yankees 1, Lucas Giolito – White Sox 1, Blake Snell – Rays 1, Framber Valdez – Astros 1, Kenta Maeda – Twins 1/2, Phil Maton – Indians 1/2, Matt Shoemaker – Blue Jays 1/2, J. B. Wendelken – Athletics 1/2

Who Owns Baseball – August 22, 2020



Let’s see who owned baseball on August 22, 2020.

For an explanation of how WOB works, click here.

Earning Full WOBs:

José Abreu hit 3 homers and reached base 2 more times as the white hot White Sox topped their cross town rival Cubs, 7-4.
Tyler Anderson threw a complete game, allowing 3 hits and 1 unearned run, striking out 4 Diamondbacks to earn the 5-1 decision for the Giants.

Trent Grisham homered three times, added another hit, collecting 6 RBI for the Padres in their 13-2 thrashing of Houston.

Triston McKenzie made his MLB debut a memorable one, striking out 10 Tigers in 6 innings, allowing 2 hits and 1 run to earn the 6-1 victory for Cleveland.

Earning 1/2 WOBs:

Yan Gomes collected a pair of hits, including a homer, but the Nationals came up short to the Marlins, 5-3.

Alex Gordon singled and homered in the Royals 7-4 loss to the Twins.

Martín Pérez threw 7 strong innings, allowing 1 run, but Boston’s bullpen let the Orioles walk off in the 5-4 final.

Zack Wheeler kept the Braves in check over 7 innings but did not fare in the decision as the Phillies fell, 6-5.


To view the Yearly Leaders for Who Owned Baseball Standings   – Click the READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY ICON OR SCROLL DOWN.