Sully Baseball Daily Podcast – December 2, 2014



Long time and beloved figure of the Red Sox organization Dick Bresciani passed away this weekend.

His thumbprint on the Red Sox was indelible.

His wife, my first grade teacher, was instrumental in making me a baseball fanatic.

If it wasn’t for Mrs. Bresciani, there would be no Sully Baseball Daily Podcast.

To read Nick Cafardo’s article in The Boston Globe, click HERE.

To read my post about Mrs. Bresciani from 2011, click HERE.

Continue reading

The Sully Baseball Official BBA Awards Ballot



As a proud member of the Baseball Blogger Alliance, every year, I submit my vote for the individual awards and I post them publicly.

I am going to simply list my choices and if you have any issues or disagreements with me, please leave them in the comment section below or click HERE to get to my Twitter handle


The Connie Mack Award (Manager of the Year):

1. Bruce Bochy, San Francisco
2. Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh
3. Mike Matheny, St. Louis

1. Buck Showalter, Baltimore
2. Mike Scioscia, Los Angeles
3. Bob Melvin, Oakland


The Willie Mays Award (Rookie of the Year):

1. Jacob deGrom, New York
2. David Buchanan, Philadelphia
3. Billy Hamilton, Cincinnati

1. Jose Abreu, Chicago
2. Danny Santana, Minnesota
3. Yordano Ventura, Kansas City



The Goose Gossage Award (Reliever of the Year): 

1. Drew Storen, Washington
2. Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta
3. Tony Watson, Pittsburgh

1. Wade Davis, Kansas City
2. Sean Doolittle, Oakland
3. Dellin Betances, New York



The Walter Johnson Award (Pitcher of the Year): 

1. Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles
2. Johnny Cueto, Cincinnati
3. Adam Wainwright, St. Louis
4. Jordan Zimmermann, Washington
5. Cole Hamels, Philadelphia

1. Felix Hernandez, Seattle
2. Corey Kluber, Cleveland
3. Chris Sale, Chicago
4. Dallas Keuchel, Houston
5. David Price, Tampa Bay and Detroit


The Stan Musial Award (MVP): 

1. Giancarlo Stanton, Miami
2. Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh

3. Buster Posey, San Francisco
4. Jonathan LuCroy, Milwaukee
5. Josh Harrison, Pittsburgh
6. Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles

7. Anthony Rendon, Washington
8. Jhonny Peralta, St. Louis
9. Jason Heyward, Atlanta
10. Russell Martin, Pittsburgh

1. Mike Trout, Los Angeles
2. Josh Donaldson, Oakland
3. Jose Altuve, Houston
4. Alex Gordon, Kansas City
5. Michael Brantley, Cleveland
6. Miguel Cabrera, Detroit
7. Victor Martinez, Detroit
8. Nelson Cruz, Baltimore
9. Adam Jones, Baltimore
10. Jose Bautista, Toronto

So let’s see how my votes lineup with the final tallies.

Sully Baseball Daily Podcast – July 9, 2014

Brian Snyder/Reuters

Brian Snyder/Reuters

Hey David Ortiz! John Lackey! I love you both. You helped win the Red Sox the 2013 World Series title. Now do us all a favor. When the topic turns to PEDs… SHUT UP!

It is a Red Sox fan reprimanding Red Sox players episode of The Sully Baseball Daily Podcast.

Jacob deGrom, Phil Hughes, Billy Hamilton, Michael Brantley, Vidal Nuno, Chris Young, Lorenzo Cain and Scooter Gennett   all added to their totals for Who Owns Baseball.

Continue reading