Sully Baseball Daily Podcast – August 3, 2014

Screen shot 2014-08-03 at 3.29.14 AM

It is time for The Sunday Request.

 

I make my best predictions and stare into the crystal ball in this episode of The Sully Baseball Daily Podcast.

 

Brett Oberholtzer, Josh Harrison, Ben Zobrist, Jacob deGrom, Miles Mikolas, Aramis Ramirez, Homer Bailey and Adam Eaton,  all added to their totals for Who Owns Baseball?

Continue reading

I REALLY wanted the Red Sox to win that game

Barry Chin/Globe Staff

Barry Chin/Globe Staff

Now it may sound odd for me to single out one game that I wanted the Red Sox to win. I mean I am a Red Sox fan. Don’t I want them to win EVERY game?

True.

But I also know the Red Sox are in full rebuilding mode. I know that they are out of it and focused on 2015 and beyond. I get that and I know they are going to finish well under .500.

These were the YANKEES. I want them to beat the Yankees. I had visions of a sweep. They were up 3-0 and finished the game with the tying run at the plate. To be in a position to sweep the Yankees and drag them back to .500 with a Sunday win would have been delicious.

If the Red Sox aren’t doing squat in their World Series defense, I want them to take the Yankees down as well. And one crappy inning kept that from happening.

Sure, a win tonight is still a series win. But I wanted that to be a formality.

What have you learned about your pal Sully? I can be very very petty.

Time to update the Dodged Bullet/Teeth Grinder tally.

An explanation of what this is all about can be found HERE.

 

XrVch

A’S DODGED BULLET – TEETH GRINDER Tally

The A’s bats were dead early and looked like they were going to miss Cespedes more than we thought. Then an 8 run 5th turned the day around, made an 8-3 winner out of Jon Lester who beat KC. DODGED BULLET

41 Dodged Bullets 34 Teeth Grinders

TOTAL: +7

 

1foo4n63rn1ejb8eds6sppper

GIANTS DODGED BULLET – TEETH GRINDER Tally

Jake Peavy’ terrible luck continued. He kept the Mets off the board until the 7th but the Giants bats couldn’t rally and fell 4-2. TEETH GRINDER

41 Dodged Bullets 35 Teeth Grinders

TOTAL: + 6

 

 

boston-redsox-logo1

RED SOX DODGED BULLET – TEETH GRINDER Tally

Allen Webster was given a 3-0 lead but couldn’t hold it for a single inning. His wildness set up the Red Sox 6-4 loss to the Yankees. TEETH GRINDER

35 Dodged Bullets 44 Teeth Grinders

TOTAL: -9

 

Win tonight, Red Sox, and I will be content. In fact just beat up the Yankees the rest of the year and rebuild.